• Home
  • News
  • 2022 CYC Award Nominees Wanted

2022 CYC Award Nominees Wanted

28 Oct 2022 1:25 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

The 2022 racing season is coming to an end, and it is time to consider the 2022 CYC outstanding performers. The Board will select the discretionary Award winners who will be announced at the Awards Party to be held in early 2023. 

If you have a suggestion for a 2022 CYC Award, please provide it (with a brief bit of background explaining the basis for the nomination) to Ken Johnson, by email (kenneth.johnson4@comcast.net) or by mail:  3706 So. Ridgeway Place, Seattle, WA  98144.  Or you can drop them off at the CYC Shilshole office.   Ken assembles the nominations and presents them to the Board for its decisions.

The Awards are:

Honor Roll of Champions - CYC sailors who have won national or international championships or have achieved honors of an equivalent level.

Hans Otto Giese Inspirational – one who has consistently provided leadership and inspiration to CYC and the amateur sailing community. Recent winners include Jared Hickman, Wane Balsiger, Dick Rose, Shauna Walgren,  Catherine Weatbrook and Suzette Connolly.

Sailor of the Year – consistently races and places in the top tier of dinghy or keelboat races, including juniors; this award includes sailors who are outstanding crew and/or who sail on different boats throughout the season.  Recent winners include Carl Buchan, Dalton Bergan, Keith Whittemore and Talia Toland.

Boat of the Year – for an outstanding season in CYC and other NW races.  Recent winners include Nefarious (Dan Randolph), Hamachi (Shawn Dougherty),  Here & Now, (Pat Denney) and Jubilee (Erik Kristen).

Boating Family – an active family in racing, cruising, CYC activities, other sailing efforts. 

Recent winners include Andrew & Katherine Bereson, David Barnes & Karen Foster, Geoff & Alison Pease, Al & Jane Johnson and Mike & Julie Cain.

Greig Memorial Cruising – cruising leadership and accomplishments, whether in local or blue waters.  Recent winners include Karen & Scott Tobiason (“Tuuli”), Paul Benson & Erica Johnson (“Atalaya”), Cathy Sherwood & Kent Powley (“Coquette”) and Chris Young (“Raven”).

Gary Horder Memorial – CYC Junior with active and successful racing program.  Recent winners include Catie Vandervort, Erik Anderson, Dieter Creitz and Abbie Carlson.

George Spalding Inspirational – most inspirational Junior sailor. Recent winners include Isabelle McNabb,  Ella Reed, Sam Airhart, Alyosha Strum-Palerm and Owen Timms.

Dog House – a sailor who handicaps him/her self by unseamanlike activity – usually some bad luck and hopefully with a bit of humor in it.  Recent awardees include Craig Williams (backing boat out of slip with spinnaker halyard attached to dock), Mike Taft (cooking chili on the Rum Run with no stove fiddles), and Robert Hodge (aground on Marrowstone as all the CYC cruising boats sailed by).  

Thank you, Business Members!

Corinthian Yacht Club of Seattle
7755 Seaview Ave NW 
Seattle WA 98117
(206) 789-1919 (Main line)

(206) 402-6870 (Juniors)



pre-2018 Web Archive
pre-2011 Web Archive

47° 41.14' N 122° 24.22' W

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software