CYC History Quiz #6: Oldest Trophies

20 Jan 2023 9:44 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)


The Club’s current perpetual Performance and Discretionary trophies are Bill Lieberman, Blakely Rocks, Boating Family, Boat of the Year, Commodore, Dog House, Garrett Holder Jr. Sailor, George Spalding Jr. Inspirational, Gibson, Greig Memorial Cruising, Hans Otto Giese, Northwest Challenge, Possession Point, Pulley Point, Sailor of the Year and Werner Ohmes Foghorn.

Only two of the Club’s current perpetual Performance and Discretionary trophies date back to 1945, the Club’s first year. What are they?


As described at CYC Awards Party, there are two trophies that date back to the Club’s 1945 origins. They are:

  • The Commodore Trophy – won in 1945 by R.O. “Bud” Anderson in his 6 meter, “Hanko;” in 2022, won by Jennifer Heins and Tim Huse on their J/35 “Those Guys.”
  • The Doghouse Trophy – won for 1945 by CYC’s first Commodore and Club founder Charles Frisbie; due to the “code of silence,” there was no “winner” for 2022.

No correct answers were submitted so no winner (ie, no free drink) for this quiz. Better luck next time!

Thank you, Business Members!

Corinthian Yacht Club of Seattle
7755 Seaview Ave NW 
Seattle WA 98117
(206) 789-1919 (Main line)

(206) 402-6870 (Juniors)

pre-2018 Web Archive
pre-2011 Web Archive

47° 41.14' N 122° 24.22' W

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software